X

How To Delete Your YouTube Watch History

YouTube logo AM AH
Advertisement

YouTube actually records every video that you’ve ever watched. This is used to help with recommendations on your home page, and also show you what videos you have already watched, which can be very useful. But sometimes, it’s a good idea to clear that history and kind of reset the algorithm. Thankfully, YouTube makes it pretty easy to do just this.

If you don’t want YouTube knowing everything you watch (which, it’s going to know anyways, since you’re on its platform), it’s a good idea to clear out your watch history from time to time. So we’re going to show you how you can do this today.

How to delete YouTube Watch history

First off, you’ll want to head to YouTube’s website from a desktop browser.

Advertisement

Next, click on History on the left-hand side of the screen.

Screen Shot 2022 09 13 at 12 51 45 PM

Here, you’ll find all of the videos you’ve recently watched.

Advertisement

On this page, you’ll also find a few options on the right side of the screen. Including:

  • Clear all Watch History
  • Pause Watch History
  • Manage All History

Among a few other things. You’ll want to click on “Clear all watch history”.

Screen Shot 2022 09 13 at 12 51 40 PM

Advertisement

Next, you’ll see a pop up confirming you want to clear your watch history. It will be cleared from all YouTube apps on all devices (this includes YouTube TV, YouTube Music and YouTube Kids).

Screen Shot 2022 09 13 at 12 51 52 PM

Just click on “Clear watch history” and you’re all set. Your watch history has now been cleared.

Advertisement

Why should I delete my YouTube watch History?

If you’ve been watching a lot of videos that are outside of the normal things you watch, it’s a good idea to clear your watch history. Say you were researching how to do something, like replace a toilet. Now that’s all you see on your home page. Clearing your watch history can fix that for you, faster than watching other videos that you would normally watch.

Another reason to delete your YouTube watch history is to kinda reset your home page. Since YouTube uses your watch history and thumbs up or down to recommend other videos to watch. Clearing your watch history can help reset your recommendations and you’ll start seeing things that you haven’t seen before.

Keep in mind that clearing your watch history is going to clear it everywhere. That includes other YouTube apps like YouTube TV and YouTube Music. It will also reset your statistics if you use YouTube Premium.

Advertisement