X

How To Delete Your PlayStation Network Account

PS5
Advertisement

So you’ve decided to delete your PlayStation Network account. Or, at the very least you want to know how you would delete your PlayStation Network account for some reason or another. Whatever that reason is, you might be surprised to find out that the process isn’t as simple as you might think.

You don’t need to be a rocket scientist to complete the process. But it’s not a quick flip of the switch. There are a handful of steps and we’re here to walk you through them. Before that, though, let’s clarify a few things.

Deleting your PlayStation Network account will complete erase any information you have tied to the account. That includes your billing information which consists of your address and payment details, as well as your email address, name (if you have it listed), and all of your other data like trophies, game saves in the cloud and more.

Advertisement

If you simply want to delete a profile or user as it were, then this is a very different thing. This is a little bit of a simpler process but it won’t wipe out any information or data tied to your account.

How to delete your PlayStation Network account

Sony makes it very clear what happens when you go through this process. If you’re resolved to delete your PlayStation Network account, remember that you will lose everything associated with it. And you will not be able to get it back again. Ever.

That being said, before we go through the steps to delete your account, let’s go over everything you will lose in the process one more time.

Advertisement

What will I lose by deleting my PSN account?

You will lose the following if you decide to delete your account. Whether you’re wanting to start fresh or you just anticipate never playing on your PlayStation again.

  • You will not be able to use the ID for this account to create another account. The ID will be lost and you will have to create a new one if you ever want to set up an account again.
  • Any content that you purchased with this account will be lost. You cannot get it back and it can’t be transferred to another account.
  • You lose access to any subscriptions tied the account. This includes but isn’t limited to all PlayStation Plus claimed titles.
  • If you have funds in your PSN wallet, they will be lost upon deletion of the account. They cannot be transferred to a new account or refunded.

Deleting your PlayStation Network account

As noted above it’s not as simple to delete your account as you might think. With say, something like Netflix, you can delete your account all on your own and that’s that. It takes just a minute or two and you’re done. But with your PlayStation Network account, you need assistance from PlayStation support to delete it.

Go to the How To Close Your Account page

How To Delete Your PlayStation Network Account 3

Advertisement

So, to get started what you need to do is head to this link and click on the Contact Us link that you see at the top of the page. That will take you to the support page where you can reach the next step. Make sure to login to your account before proceeding.

Click on accounts and security

How To Delete Your PlayStation Network Account 2

At the bottom of the page you should see a big block panel button you can click called Accounts & Security. Click that to reveal a set of options that will appear just below that button across the length of the page.

Advertisement

Click the link for Change online ID and other account questions

How To Delete Your PlayStation Network Account 1

After you click this link another set of buttons will appear below the link. One for a live chat with a support member, and another for contacting support via Twitter.

Your best bet is to click the live chat support link. Live chat is only open between the hours of 8am and 7pm PST. Worth noting is that the hours of operation are the same if you’re trying to reach support through Twitter.

Advertisement

The good news is that these hours are good for on the weekends as well. Once you get a hold of support you’ll be asked a series of questions to verify yourself, and then the support agent will probably go through what you lose by deleting your account just so things are extra clear.

They will help you finalize the account deletion. Once the process is over with support, that’s it. You’re all done.