X

How To Delete Your Google Maps History

how to save route google maps AM AH
Advertisement

Google has gotten pretty good about allowing you to delete your history on things like search and also Google Maps. Making things a bit safer for those that might be paranoid about Google knowing where you are at all times. Today, we’re going to go over how you can delete your Google Maps search history, as well as a specific range of history, and how to clear your location history in Google Maps.

Why would I want to delete my Google Maps history?

There’s many reasons why you might want to delete your Google Maps search and/or location history. Of course, the biggest one is Google itself. Many people don’t like Google having all this information about them, including what they searched for, where they’ve been, etc. Though that data does provide some really cool features on Google Maps, like the ability to use Timeline and see where you went on specific days.

Of course, there are other reasons to remove location history, which we won’t get into here. But I’m sure you can use your imagination to figure that one out.

Advertisement

Google does allow you to automatically delete your Google Maps search history and location history. Which we’ll also talk about here. Unfortunately, it is set to delete every 3 months, 18 months or 36 months. So if you want it deleted sooner, you’ll have to go in and do that yourself.

But without further ado, here’s how you can clear your Google Maps search history, delete all or a range of search history and how you can delete your location history.

How to clear Google Maps search History

To delete your Google Maps search history, head into the Google Maps app.

Advertisement

Then tap on your profile picture at the top.

Screenshot 20220923 101539

From there, tap on Settings.

Advertisement

Next, tap on Maps History.

Screenshot 20220923 101544

Now, scroll down to the entries that you’d like to delete. And click the X icon there.

Advertisement

Screenshot 20220923 101550

Next, you’ll need to confirm that you want to delete it.

And that’s it. You can delete all search history for your Google Maps account this way. And it can also be done on the desktop using the same method.

Advertisement

How to delete all or a range of Google Maps search history

Now here’s how you can delete all of your history, or just a range of it, in Google Maps.

Head into the Google Maps app.

Then tap on your profile picture at the top.

Advertisement

Screenshot 20220923 101539

From there, tap on Settings.

Next, tap on Maps History.

Advertisement

Screenshot 20220923 101550

Now you’ll see a Delete button with a down arrow, click on that button.

Here, you’ll see a few options for deleting search history on Google Maps. You can choose to delete today, a custom range, all-time or turn on auto-delete.

Screenshot 20220923 102000

Keep in mind that if you do select the auto-delete option, it will only delete your maps history every 3 months, 18 months or 36 months. This is a good option if you want to keep your search history out of Google Maps, without having to keep going back into it.

Screenshot 20220923 102035

And that’s how you can delete more than just an entry of search history in your Google Maps account.

How to clear location history in Google Maps

Now here’s the important one, deleting your entire location history in Google Maps. Now Google does have a cool timeline feature where you can see where you went on specific days for many, many years. So if you delete all of your location history, the timeline feature won’t be able to show you your location from previous days and years.

Go into the Google Maps app.

Then tap on your profile picture in the upper-right hand corner.

Screenshot 20220923 101539

Next, tap on “Your Timeline”.

On this page, you can remove a particular stop by tapping on the three dots next to that stop and tapping on Remove. To remove the entire day, just tap on Today and then choose remove.

To clear your entire location history. tap on the three dots at the very top.

Then tap on Settings and Privacy.

Screenshot 20220923 103754

Scroll down to the Location Settings section. Now find “Delete all Location History”.

A confirmation box will now pop up and you’ll need to check the checkbox then tap on Delete. Now all of your location history is gone.

Screenshot 20220923 103752

You can also delete a range of location history on the option below that. Just type in the start and end dates, and hit continue. It’ll then delete all of your location history for that time.

Finally, you can set it to automatically delete location history. Just tap on Automatically delete location history. Then you’ll need to select how old you want the location data to be when it is deleted. This can be 3 months, 6 months or 18 months.

And now you’re all set. That is how you can delete location history in Google Maps.