With the news that Netflix is raising prices once again, many are looking to cancel the service. Luckily, it is pretty easy to cancel, compared to some of the competition. And it’s not even hidden within the settings.
In this tutorial, we’ll show you how you can cancel your Netflix account.
How to Cancel Netflix
Cancelling Netflix is quite simple.
- First, login to Netflix.
- Then tap on your profile picture in the upper-right hand corner.
- And tap on “Account”.
- From there, you’ll be taken to your account, and you’ll see a nice big gray “Cancel Membership” button at the top.
- Click on “Cancel Membership.
- From there, you’ll see a new screen asking if you are done watching, or if you want to stick around. Offering you the option to switch to a lower plan.
- Tap on “Finish Cancellation”.
- After that, you will receive confirmation that your plan is canceled.
To Netflix’s credit, they do make it super simple to cancel your account, compared to some other streaming services, where you need to call them to get them to cancel it.
Netflix will show you the date when your account is going to be canceled, and that is when you’ll no longer have access to Netflix. Since Netflix does not pro-rate and offer a refund, you just have access until your next billing date.
Netflix still has your information, if you decide you want to return
Some people will cancel Netflix and then return to the service in a few months when some new shows they want to watch come out. Luckily, Netflix will keep your profiles, favorites, viewing preferences, and account details for 10 months. So you can return within 10 months and not need to start over.
That means that all of your recommendations will still be available as well. So if you’ve decided you didn’t want to cancel, then you can reactivate and continue where you left off.