X

Google Drive Now Lets You Set Expiry Date For Files Before Sharing

Google Drive AH NS 05
Advertisement

Google has announced a couple of nifty improvements for expiring access controls in Drive. You can now set an expiry date before sharing the file. Drive also now lets you add expiring access for editors. The changes will roll out to all eligible users over the next couple of weeks.

Google Drive has long allowed users to set an expiry date for shared files and folders. After that date, the other person cannot access the file. But all this while, you could only add the expiry dates after sharing the file or folder. You needed to amend permissions from the menu after you have shared the file. Google is now simplifying this by letting you specify an expiry date for access to a file before sharing it. You can select a date from the Editor menu in the pop-up screen that appears at the point of sharing.

Additionally, you can also now add expiry dates for editors. Earlier, it was limited to viewers and commenters only. This expansion gives you more control over your files when collaborating with people outside your organization, or even within your organization. The ability to set expiry before sharing also ensures better security as there’s a lesser chance of you forgetting it. You don’t have to go back and clean up after the collaboration has ended.

Advertisement

Google is rolling out these updates for Drive expiring access

Google started rolling out these changes for expiring controls in Drive on the web this Monday. The updates will be available to all eligible users in Rapid and Scheduled release domains over the next two weeks, i. e. by mid-November. Both new features will be ON by default and cannot be turned off. There is no admin control either.

The latest update for Google Drive will be available to Google Workspace Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Education Plus, Education Standard, and Nonprofits customers. Users with a Google Workspace Essentials, Business Starter, Education Fundamentals, the Teaching and Learning Upgrade, and Frontline account won’t get these changes. Legacy G Suite Basic and Business customers, as well as users with personal Google accounts, also miss out.

Google says the ability to set the expiry date before sharing will also be available in the Drive app for Android by the end of this month. The changes will likely be pushed through a server-side update. But you can click the button below to download the latest version of Google Drive from the Play Store.

Advertisement

Google Drive expiry date