X

Google Calendar Enables Working Location By Default For Everyone

Google Calendar Logo
Advertisement

Google Calendar is making it easier to share your working location. The feature is now enabled by default for everyone. You no longer need to manually enable the feature in your Calendar app settings before you can enter your location information. This change lets you specify where you are working from in fewer clicks.

The ability to specify your working location in Google Calendar is a fairly new feature. Introduced in August last year, it came in light of the changing work culture during and post the pandemic lockdowns. During lockdowns, work from home had become a new norm. But as things got better, companies started welcoming their employees back into the office.

However, most companies allowed optional work from home depending on the local conditions, among other things. Some opted for a hybrid work culture where employees have to alternately work from home and the office. Google wanted to address a problem with this system — enabling employees to notify their colleagues and bosses about where they will be working on a given day without much hassle. Users can specify their working locations from a dropdown menu next to the daily working hours in Google Calendar.

Advertisement

In May this year, Google announced a change that offered the same functionality in a more compact format. It made entering and updating location information easier and faster by using the screen space more efficiently. Now, the company is further simplifying the process by enabling the feature by default for everyone. Of course, it can still be turned off.

In a blog post earlier this week, Google stated that Admins can disable the feature at the organizational level. So your organization can control whether you have access to it. The existing settings for your domain will remain unchanged unless updated in the Admin console.

The latest change to Google Calendar is now rolling out

This change that enables the ability to specify your working location in Google Calendar by default for everyone is now rolling out to users. Those on Rapid Release domains will receive it by August 9, followed by users on Scheduled Release domains.

Advertisement

Google says the feature is available to Workspace Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Education Fundamentals, Education Standard, Education Plus, the Teaching and Learning Upgrade, Nonprofits, and legacy G Suite Business customers. Workspace Essentials, Business Starter, Enterprise Essentials, Frontline, and legacy G Suite Basic customers miss out. Users with personal Google Accounts also don’t get it.