X

How To Watch Samsung's MWC 2021 Press Conference

Samsung virtual MWC 2021 event teaser
Advertisement
Advertisement

Samsung isn’t actually attending Mobile World Congress this year, but it is taking part in the conference virtually. And Samsung has their own press conference today, where they are expected to preview the future of its smartwatch platform. Many are expecting to hear more about the co-developed platform that Samsung and Google worked on, that was announced at Google I/O last month.

That’s a major departure for Samsung, since it has used Tizen on all of its smartwatches, since the Gear Live which debuted in 2014 on Android Wear. But we are only expecting a preview here, since this is set to be a rather short event. And there’s not a whole lot of hype from Samsung surrounding this event. So do not expect to see the Galaxy Z Fold 3, the Z Flip 3, or even the Galaxy Watch 4. Typically, that would be announced at an Unpacked event, which this is not that.

Speaking of how long this event will be, Samsung expects it to run for about an hour. Which will give it enough time to preview this new platform. If that is indeed what Samsung will be doing today. Of course, it could be something totally different and Samsung could surprise us. But where this is the first day of MWC and Samsung isn’t actually there, we’re not expecting anything big. Again, given the lack of hype for this event.

Advertisement

How can I watch Samsung’s MWC 2021 press conference?

You’ll be able to watch Samsung’s press conference virtually from MWC 2021 through the YouTube video embedded below. Or on Samsung’s newsroom. It’s a virtual event, so it is likely pre-recorded. Hopefully that means that we won’t be seeing any issues with the livestream, like Microsoft had for its Windows 11 unveil last week.

The show will kick off at 7:15PM CET in Barcelona. For those of us in the US, that’s 1:15PM ET or 10:15AM PT.