Huawei Redesigns AppGallery To Boost App Discovery

Huawei AppGallery redesign 1

Huawei has redesigned its Google Play Store alternative, AppGallery. The new design comes with “improved navigation and localized content”. It also makes it easier for developers to create deeper engagements with customers.

As most of you know, AppGallery completely replaced the Google Play Store on Huawei’s smartphones. The US ban forced Huawei to heavily invest in AppGallery, and the app has come a long way.

Over 500 million users use the app on a monthly basis, those are the stats for the past year. This new design is aiming to increase that number even further, as Huawei plans to boost the app further moving forward.


Huawei AppGallery redesign will make it easier to find good apps

Huawei says that it wanted to emphasize the Apps portion of the app with “striking visuals and complementary digital content”. This will mainly serve to promote Apps from app developers, make them easier to discover.

The all-new ‘Featured’ tab got introduced, and in it, apps are presented in a card form. You’ll be able to spot curated content easily that way. Tabs have also been updated to scroll from top to bottom, and from new to older posts, which should also enhance the experience.

Campaigns and Gifts section is extremely popular

You’ll also spot the ‘Campaigns and Gifts’ section in the app. Those are extremely popular with users, says Huawei. The Campaigns tab offers various promotions from Huawei, including Lucky Draws, Cashback offers, and Challenges for various rewards.

Sponsored Video

The Gifts section enables users to get free items from app developers in return for downloading their apps, or signing up for them. So, you can get a free premium service for a specific amount of time, or some sort of extra in-game credit.

Huawei notes that this redesign has started to roll out, but only in selected countries. Only specific countries in Europe will get it, including: Sweden, Norway, Finland, Denmark, Romania, Czechia, Poland, Bulgaria, Turkey, Austria, Lithuania, Hungary, and Ukraine.