Meaning that you can no longer use WhatsApp if you opt-out of sharing your data with Facebook. This is something contradictory to the statement WhatsApp gave when it was sold over to Facebook for $19 billion.
In the blog post, it reassured its users that privacy is coded into their DNA and they will not share any data with Facebook even after the takeover.
But the reality seems pretty different. Soon, you will have no choice but to let WhatsApp share some of your data with Facebook if you would like to use the popular messaging app.
Moreover, this new security policy will come into effect on February 8. After this date, you will have to accept the policy to use WhatsApp. Besides, if you do not agree to the policy, the same alert suggests you delete your account.
Data including your WhatsApp account number, profile name, financial transactions, etc will be shared
Notably, WhatsApp has specified what kind of data will be collected of the user, and it is pretty personal. As per the alert, data of your WhatsApp account number, profile name, and photo, financial transactions done via the app will be shared with Facebook.
Not only Facebook, but this data will also be shared with its subsidiary companies as well. Furthermore, WhatsApp has highlighted that data will be collected to send you friend recommendations, personalized content, and showing relevant ad offers across various Facebook products.
The collected user data will help WhatsApp to operate, provide, improve, understand, customize, support, and market its services.
People who have an objection to this new policy would have to look out for a new messaging app. From a privacy point of view, this is something that was not expected out from WhatsApp.