Watch The Sony Xperia 5 II Compact Flagship Launch Live

Advertisement
Advertisement

Sony will launch a new compact flagship in less than an hour, the Xperia 5 II. The company will livestream that launch event on YouTube, so you can follow what’s going on live.

The Sony Xperia 5 II launch will kick off in about an hour

This will be an online-only event, and it will start at 9 AM CET / midnight PST / 3 AM EST / 4 PM JST, in case you’d like to tune in. We’ve embedded a link to the livestream below this article.

This is a more compact variant of the Sony Xperia 1 II, essentially. It’s still not a tiny device, but it’s a lot smaller than its sibling, and it will be a great choice for those of you who like more compact smartphones.

Advertisement

A ton of information regarding this smartphone surfaced, including our exclusive content. The phone will resemble its predecessor, the Xperia 5, quite a bit. Its bezels will be a bit thinner, and a rear camera setup will look slightly different.

Other than that, the design of this phone will be like the one Sony used for the Xperia 5. The device will be made out of metal and glass, and it will feature a flat display.

The device is expected to ship with a 6.1-inch fullHD+ HDR OLED display with a 120Hz refresh rate. That refresh rate is the biggest display-related improvement compared to the Xperia 5, that’s for sure.

Advertisement

The phone will include the Snapdragon 865 SoC, along with three rear cameras

The phone will also offer a 240Hz touch sampling rate, in case you were wondering, same as the OnePlus 8 Pro. The Snapdragon 865 will fuel the phone, not the Snapdragon 865 Plus. 5G support will be included.

You can expect to get 8GB of RAM inside of this phone, along with 128GB of storage. That storage will be expandable via a microSD card, which are great news.

A 4,000mAh battery is also expected, which is a notable improvement over the unit included in the Xperia 5. USB-C PD fast charging will also be included, we’re not sure about wireless charging just yet.

Advertisement

The phone is expected to include three cameras on the back, and those cameras will be similar if not identical to the ones on the Xperia 1 II. Three 12-megapixel cameras will be included on the back.

The phone is expected to measure 158 x 68 x 8mm, and weigh around 160 grams. Almost every Android flagship phone these days is considerably wider than this, and also taller. So, the Xperia 5 II will certainly appeal to users who want a more compact smartphone. The device will also be water and dust resistant, by the way. The livestream link is included below.