OnePlus Officially Announces OnePlus 8T Launch Date & Time

OnePlus 8T coming soon featured
Advertisement
Advertisement

Following the information Amazon India provided earlier today, OnePlus is following up with some officially official info. The OnePlus 8T launch date is October 14.

The OnePlus 8T launch event starts at 7 AM PST / 4 PM CET on October 14

The company has announced that the press event will kick off at 10 AM EST / 7 AM PST / 3 PM BST / 4 PM CET / 7:30 PM IST. We’re presuming this will be an online-only event due to the current health crisis. The company also didn’t mention any specific venues, so there’s that.

This date has been mentioned twice thus far, first in a rumor, and then by Amazon India. It turns out that the information was accurate. At this point, we have quite a few details about the OnePlus 8T, and OnePlus will surely tease more in the coming days / weeks.

Advertisement

The OnePlus 8T will become the company’s new flagship smartphone. The device will be made out of metal and glass, and it will have high-end specs. It is not expected to trump the OnePlus 8 Pro, though.

The Snapdragon 865 will fuel the device

The device will be fueled by the same SoC as the two OnePlus 8 series phones, the Snapdragon 865. OnePlus opted not to utilize the Snapdragon 865 Plus for some reason, at least according to rumors.

The device will have really thin bezels, and a display camera hole will be included. Unlike its siblings, the OnePlus 8T will utilize a flat display, and not a curved one.

Advertisement

Its camera module on the back will sit in a different spot as well. The phone is expected to utilize four cameras on the back. A single camera will be included on its front side.

A large battery will also be a part of the package, along with fast wired charging. We’re still not sure if the device will offer wireless charging or not. We’ll have to wait and see.

An under-display fingerprint scanner will be included here, while a 3.5mm headphone jack will not. Stereo speakers will be a part of the package, and Android 11 will come pre-installed. OnePlus’ OxygenOS 11 will ship on top of Android 11, by the way.

Advertisement

The phone is expected to appear in both 8GB and 12GB RAM variants with 128GB and 256GB of storage, respectively. It will offer two SIM card slots, but you won’t be able to expand the storage.

A new pair of TWS earbuds may arrive alongside the phone

OnePlus may announce its second pair of TWS earbuds alongside this phone, the OnePlus Buds Z. Those earbuds are expected to be more affordable than the OnePlus Buds.

In addition to that, the company’s very first power bank may arrive during that event. OnePlus is also expected to announce several new budget phones this year, but we’re not sure if any of them will see the light of day on October 14. It’s likely they’ll get a separate event. Check out our preview for more information.

Advertisement