Google Drive Will Delete Trash Items Automatically After 30 Days

Advertisement
Advertisement

A new feature is now coming to the Google Drive cloud storage platform from the Mountain View giant. Notably, the items in the trash bin will be deleted automatically after 30 days.

Note that note all the files in the Trash Bin will be deleted from Google Drive. Basically, the files that are sitting in the Google Drive Trash Bin for over 30 days will be deleted.

This is a convenient feature for the users who had to manually delete the Trash Bin files. Besides, with the help of this feature, the unwanted files will be automatically deleted after 30 days.

Advertisement

This feature will come into effect on Google Drive from October 13. So, the countdown for the Trash Bin files in Google Drive will begin from October 13.

To give you some context, once this feature is implemented in Google Drive, the files will be deleted automatically on November 11. This Google Drive feature will be available for the masses. Meaning that it is not a server-side update.

G Suite users can restore deleted files for up to 25 days after it's been deleted

G Suite users can ask their admins to restore the deleted files for up to 25 days after the items have been deleted. However, after 30 days, the recovery of the files will be difficult.

Advertisement

Previously, the deleted items used to indefinitely stored in the Trash Bin. But with this new update, Google Drive gets the ability to automatically deleted the unwanted trash files.

Moreover, as per the official post, this new Google Drive update will bring the service at par with Gmail. This will ensure consistent behavior across all G Suite platforms.

Well, basically the deleted item, which was deleted to be gone forever, will actually be gone forever after 30 days. Besides, these changes will come into effect for all devices and platforms.

Advertisement

In fact, the files deleted via the Drive File Stream will also be deleted from the system trash after 30 days. However, there will be no impact on the behavior of the Backup and Sync feature.

Starting today, this Google Drive feature will show an in-app notification highlighting this new change. Users will receive a notification message in Docs, Sheets, Slides, etc. following on September 29.

This new Google Drive feature will reach all the users from October 13

As already noted, this feature will come into effect from October 13. However, it may take about 15-20 days to reach all users. This will be available for all the G Suite users.

Advertisement

For more information, you can head to G Suite official blog, to learn about the policies and changes in more depth.