OnePlus Nord Will Launch On July 21: Official

Advertisement
Advertisement

OnePlus has just officially confirmed that the OnePlus Nord will launch on July 21. This confirmation comes via one of the company’s employees, Akis Evangelidis.

Mr. Evangelidis is a Vice President of OnePlus France. He actually got interviewed alongside Carl Pei, the company’s co-founder, quite recently. So, what he says goes, and this is an official confirmation.

OnePlus will probably share the same news via its social media channels. Mr. Evangelidis’ confirmation is just as good, though, as we finally have an official date for the launch.

The OnePlus Nord will launch on July 21, at 4PM CET / 7AM PST

The launch will take place at 7:30PM IST / 4PM CET / 10AM EST / 7AM PST in India. That is according to the information shared by Ishan Agarwal earlier today. This will be an AR launch, by the way.

Advertisement

Speaking of which, you can access the launch event via the 'Nord Launch' app that has been shared by the company. A link to that application is available below this paragraph.

Nord Launch (Google Play Store)

The OnePlus Nord will be the company’s second mid-range smartphone. It will become a spiritual successor to the OnePlus X, which arrived alongside the OnePlus 2.

Advertisement

That handset has been beloved by the company’s consumers, but the sales numbers weren’t quite as high as the company wanted. Therefore, the company is giving it another try, years later.

This smartphone will arrive to India and Europe first. The launch in India will probably be the phone’s general launch event, in English. We’re presuming that will be the case as this confirmation comes from the Vice President of OnePlus France, and all materials are in English.

The OnePlus Nord did leak several times thus far. The phone will be made out of metal and glass. It will feature a flat display, and a pill-shaped display camera hole. Its bezels will be quite thin.

Advertisement

Four cameras are reported to be included on the back of the device. We’re still not sure how large will its display be, but it’s expected to measure at least 6.4 inches.

The phone will include a 90Hz AMOLED display

The device will feature a fullHD+ AMOLED display with 90Hz refresh rate, in case you were wondering. A large battery is also expected, along with fast wired charging.

Wireless charging probably won’t be a part of the package, nor will water and dust resistance. We’re only guessing, though, so take it with a grain of salt.

Advertisement

The company’s CEO, Pete Lau, said that the device will cost under $500. So, you can expect it to be well under €500 in Europe, and the equivalent to that in India.