Instagram Users Now Getting "You're All Caught Up" Feature

Advertisement
Advertisement

Instagram has started rolling out the "You're All Caught Up" feature to more users. This functionality was first reported last May, and it is designed to automatically inform users when they have seen all new posts by the people they follow within the last 48 hours. People could still scroll through their Instagram feed after seeing the notice, although what they will only see below the reminder is content that was posted more than two days ago as well as posts that the user has already viewed previously.

This feature, the social media platform noted in its announcement, will let people know that they haven't missed any new videos and photographs, which should prevent users from spending too much time searching for new content. Furthermore, Instagram claims that this feature should help users gain a better understanding of their Instagram feed, which is currently being sorted and curated by an algorithm that places the best posts at the top of the feed. It should be noted that the social media platform previously utilized a chronological feed, which would have made it easier for users to track if they already saw all the new posts on Instagram, although the social media platform later modified its algorithm so that newer posts are more likely to be seen on top of people's Instagram feeds.

This recent feature is a part of the social media platform's recent efforts to improve the well-being of its users by helping reduce the amount of time people spend on the social networking site. Kevin Systrom, the chief executive officer of Instagram, has previously stated that it is the responsibility of tech companies to be transparent to consumers regarding the amount of time they spend online. Aside from the You're All Caught Up notice that should now appear on people's Instagram feeds, another feature that the social networking site is currently working on is the Usage Insights tool, which informs users on the total amount of time they have spent on the social media platform. This feature also allows people to set a limit on how much time they are going to spend on the social media platform. However, it is not yet clear when Instagram will officially roll out this feature to its users.

Advertisement