Google has introduced yet another new feature to its G Suite platform, intended to make managing collaborative efforts on Google Docs, Sheets, and Slides a much easier prospect. The feature, which the company calls Activity dashboard, accomplishes that by including a new U.I.-element in each of those applications within G Suite. That U.I. will provide a file's editors with the ability to see information about who has viewed a given document, spreadsheet, or slideshow. The company says that will make it easier for users to follow-up after changes are made. It's a small change but should be a nice complement to security enhancements and other features the company has added over the past couple of months.
There are three settings for the tool, which serve to highlight how the tool works. Those settings can be applied in the Admin console and include On, On within a given domain, and Off. With the option set to "on," the dashboards will show any user - as long as they have editing permission for a file - which users have viewed the file or made changes. The secondary "on" settings option allows admins to make that information viewable only for files owned by users in their domains and to other users in that domain. Turning the settings to "Off," on the other hand, is self-explanatory as it effectively disables the Activity dashboard. Administrators can start experimenting with those settings as of March 7 but they'll be gradually rolling out much later to end-users. In fact, the rollout is planned to take several weeks and begin on March 21.
The new tools should, at very least, be helpful to file editors and document owners when it comes to keeping tabs on file activity. More specifically, it should be useful in circumstances where further changes are needed or where changes need to be discussed. It could also feasibly be used to assist in ensuring that only appropriate users are viewing a given file. However, that may be more of a stretch since all users do have control over their own individual privacy settings to not allow their personal information to be shown on the dashboard.