As part of a new update which rolled out earlier today, Instagram has introduced a new feature that will definitely come in handy for the growing number of social media users who make use of the online photo sharing service. The new feature is a 'save for later' option that will allow people to save posts and view them at a later time. As part of this all-new bookmarking option, the posts will be stored in a separate tab within the user's profile, and will be completely private. The feature will reportedly work across all posts on Instagram, so whether or not they're your posts will have no bearing on whether you'll be allowed to use this feature.
According to the post on the official Instagram blog, the new feature is available on version 10.2 of its mobile app for Android and iOS. Upon installing the latest version, an all-new bookmarks icon will appear on the bottom right-hand corner of images and videos. Users can then choose to tap on that icon to save the image or video to their own private collection, much like they would 'Pin' images on Pinterest. The saved media can then be viewed by going over to your profile and tapping on the same bookmarks icon, which will lay out the thumbnails of all your chosen content in the form of a gallery. One word of caution though. Instagram says that since these bookmarks are not actually saved posts, if a user decides to delete something, it will no longer be visible to you even if you've saved it on your app.
It is certainly interesting that Instagram is finally bringing a feature that many social media commentators have felt was long overdue. Many users already seem to have given the new feature a thumbs up, with many tweeting about how it will go a long way in enhancing the user-experience. While Facebook already allows users to save posts to view later, Twitter is yet to roll out this new feature in spite of repeated requests. Now that Instagram is finally rolling out the new update, it will be interesting to see if the microblogging site follows suit.