Google is adding a new feature into Android today that will now see the operating system send out notifications to people when a new device has been added onto their Google account. Most people should be fairly aware of the importance of mobile security these days, and while much of the security and safety of one's personal information rests with the user themselves with the implementation of safe practices, Google as a company and the owner of the Android OS does their part to help safeguard their users as much as they possibly can, and this is one of the new ways they aim to assist users in addition to other methods like the monthly security patches.
When paired with other security initiatives like two-factor authentication which users can already enable on their accounts and Android devices that are tied to those accounts, notifications for new devices added simply gives an extra layer of protection. This new feature is automatically enabled so users won't have to do anything to turn it on. If and when a new device is added to the Google account, a native Android notification will show up in the status bar alerting users that a new device was added and then asking them if they have signed in.
Alongside alerting users to these new device adds, users can also check on extra bits of information associated with the newly added device like where the device was located that was added, what device type it was, and they'll also be able to see the IP address as well as the browser that was used to sign into the account and add the device. These pieces of information will be found in a section called "review account activity" which can be seen immediately on the notification that pops up, and if users aren't familiar with the device added they can tap the notification to bring up the information and take the next step. Google states that the changes have begun rolling out to users as of today, and are launching both to rapid release and on a release schedule, and it could take up to two weeks or more for some users to see the feature arrive on their accounts, although it's highly likely that many users will see the feature arrive before then.