Google Maps is always bringing in new features to the application. Google knows that their mapping application can't stay number one without continuing to add more features, especially useful ones. In the latest beta version of Google Maps, the search giant has debuted a new feature that is actually only available for Google Local Guides that are level 4 or higher - those that contribute to Google Maps to ensure that information about businesses are correct.
The functionality is quite simple, you can save places to three different lists. There are "Favorites", "Want to go" and "Shared Places". Each of which are pretty self-explanatory. To save places to these lists, you'll see a new icon located on the information screen for different places on Google Maps. The icon is new, but the actual button isn't. It's a save button. Just tap on that and you'll be able to save this location to one of those three lists. So you can make a list of places you want to go, as well as shared places that you've shared with others. Especially useful if you are giving someone instructions to a family gathering or a dinner with multiple people.
While those are the three lists you get by default, that doesn't mean that you can't create a new list. Using the FAB button in the lower right-hand corner, you can create a new list to save locations to. Just simply give it a name and a description and you're good to go. You'll also be able to see all of your lists by tapping on the "Your Places" that is found in the slideout navigation menu for Google Maps. Making it simple to jump to all of your lists.
Currently, this is only available in the beta version of Google Maps. If you have not signed up for the beta track, you won't see this feature enabled for you. Secondly, you do also need to be a Google Local Guide that is Level 4 or higher for the feature to appear. Which means that this feature is likely only available for the very heavy users of Google Maps right now. But it should be coming to everyone else in the coming months.