HTC Teases October 20th Event With #BeBrilliant

HTC has been making Android phones for years, but more recently, it is running out of luck. Although their One M7 and One M8 phones were praised for their design, build quality and performance, the success among Android fans didn't result in strong sales. To make things even worse, this year's One M9 had a disastrous launch with users raged due to the lack of innovation, an almost identical design of the previous model, and what was considered by some to be a less than great camera performance. As the Taiwan-based company leaked money everywhere, in August its market value went below the money they had on hand, making it officially worthless. Since then, rumors about a new phone have been running around and several leaks online revealed almost everything about the gadget. Today the company has just launched a new Twitter tease reminding us of their upcoming event, together with the hashtag "BeBrilliant".

There's a short video by HTC USA account showing what looks like the Grand Canyon, some sand and that's it. From previous leaks, we know that the alleged HTC One A9 or HTC Aero is expected to feature a 5-inch screen with a resolution of 1080 x 1920 pixels, resulting in a pixel density of 441 pixels per inch (ppi). The processor is rumored to be the octa-core Snapdragon 617, coupled with an Adreno 405 GPU and 2 GB of RAM, and 16 GB of internal storage. There will be a 13-megapixel camera on the rear, with Optical Image Stabilization (OIS) and a 4 MP front-facing shooter with HTC's UltraPixel technology. To power everything, the rumors point at a 2,150 mAh battery. What is interesting about the device is that, according to previously leaked images, it looks a lot like an iPhone 6 copycat - at least they didn't leave that protruding camera on the right, moving it to the middle. Additionally, also from the renders we can expect a fingerprint reader on the front, just like the OnePlus 2.

October 20th is right around the corner and we have one week left to see what HTC has to show off in the hopes of changing its bad luck. However, we are yet to see what especial feature the company will be introducing with this One A9 and whether it will be something exciting. The event will take place at 12 pm in NYC, 5 pm in London, 9:30 pm in New Delhi and 12 am in Taipei.

Copyright ©2019 Android Headlines. All Rights Reserved
This post may contain affiliate links. See our privacy policy for more information.
You May Like These
More Like This:
About the Author
2015/08/Muni-Perez.jpg

Muni Perez

Writer
Brazilian living in beautiful Rio, I have been an Android user since 2011 and love the openness of the system. Avid for mobile devices and technology in general, I'm also a merchant marine student, web developer and an aircraft pilot.