Amazon App Store Opens Up Shop To A Large Grouping Of 41 New Regions

July 31, 2014 - Written By Justin Diaz

The Amazon App Store has had its share of not so good days. In its infancy it hadn’t seen nearly the amount of downloads and installs that it does now, but as Amazon continues to push out new products that have easy connection and access to their regular online retail store as well as their App Store, they’ll likely continue to see increases in app downloads and sales. It could only help the fact then that Amazon has also decided to open up access of their App Store to 41 new countries and territories around the globe, spanning across Africa, the Middle East, Southeast Asia and Oceania. Amazon just opened up an opportunity to sell a whole bunch more stuff to millions of new customers, but then again selling things to us is Amazon’s specialty.

Not only does it open up opportunities for Amazon to sell more stuff and make more money for themselves, but it also opens up more doors for developers who build apps for the market. Amazon makes some notes that there will be some territories or locations that will restrict access to certain types of applications, and they mention this as a caution to the developers to be on the up and up about restrictions and policies of the countries and territories which developers wish to distribute their apps to. This also means that applications which are already in the Amazon App Store will likely be restricted in some areas as well and serves as a notice to users in those countries, that they may not have access to some of the applications that they were hoping for. However, locations with no restrictions will have all existing apps go live.

The entire list of 41 new countries and territories where the Amazon App Store is now supported and accessible includes Algeria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina, Faso, Chad, Djibouti,  Egypt,  Eritrea,  Gambia,  Guinea,  Indonesia,  Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakista, Palestinian Territories, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone,  Singapore,  Somalia,  Tajikistan,  Tunisia,  Turkey,  Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, and Yemen. With these 41 new locations Amazon’s App store is now accessible in 236 total locations around the world.