Verified Boot warning Android Marshmallow_1

‘Verified Boot’ Functions A Bit Differently In Android 6.0

October 20, 2015 - Written By Kristijan Lucic

Along with introducing Nexus devices last month, Google has also introduced a new version of Android operating system. Android 6.0 Marshmallow. The Mountain View giant has added a number of improvements this time around, not only did they polished Android Lollipop, but they’ve added a number of features as well. We’ve talked about Android 6.0 Marshmallow at length already, but there are so many bits and pieces to cover that we’re back again with yet another Marshmallow tidbit, read on.

We’re here to talk about ‘Verified Boot’ which has been a part of Google’s mobile OS since Android 4.4 KitKat. Google has made some changes with verified boot this time around, it’s not more aggressive than ever before. Have you wondered what happens when you unlock a bootloader on one of the new Nexus devices? Well, in case you’re interested, Ron Amadeo has posted an image of it. You’ll get this warning message: ”Your device software can’t be checked for corruption. Please lock your bootloader,” along with a link to the Google support page.

The aforementioned support page, however, is full of bootloader info. There seem to be three levels of warnings, Yellow, Orange and Red. The Yellow warning says ‘Your device has loaded a different operating system,’ while the Orange one shows the following message: ”Your device software can’t be checked for corruption. Please lock your bootloader”. There’s also a third, Red level, as mentioned before. If you come to this level, you’ll get the following message: ”Your device is corrupt. It can’t be trusted and may not work properly.”

It seems like the yellow warning pops up when you install a custom, while the red warning pops up when ”The operating system on your device has been changed or corrupted and is not safe to use. The device may not work properly and could expose your data to corruption and security risks”. It’s also worth nothing that this warning will disappear in about 10 seconds after it pops up, and your device will boot up normally. There’s always a chance something could go wrong and your device won’t boot up, of course, in which case the procedure is completely the same as with previous Android variants.