HTC Aero A9 Invite

HTC Teases October 20 Unveiling Of A New Phone

September 29, 2015 - Written By Diego Macias

HTC has just announced a list of smartphones that will be updated to the most recent version of Android called Marshmallow. The list included current flagship models, some mid-range devices and even some older ones. What’s more, it seems that the company is working hard to customize the OS as fast as they can, in order to have the update ready before the end of the year, at least for some of their phones. This kind of commitment is good to see in a company that is not having the results they expected, as those who decided to buy one of their products are more likely to show some loyalty to the brand.

There had been rumors about a new HTC phone that would be introduced on the second half of the year, it became known as the HTC Aero and a little later as HTC One A9 and there are a few leaks showing the alleged hardware of the phone, but it is still unclear as to what to expect in terms of its internals. Now, HTC is teasing an event for October 20 with a new image. The event will not have a live audience, but it will be transmitted on their website to the world. The image features a background with what looks like coal, rocks or some other mineral and there’s a visible silhouette of a phone that certainly resembles the one we’ve seen on the leaks. It includes the tagline #BeBrilliant, the HTC logo, the website to watch the event and the time where the event takes place (12pm in NYC, 5pm in London, 9:30pm in New Delhi and 12am in Taipei).

Jeff Gordon from HTC has communicated some interesting information about this phone on his Twitter account. He said that it will probably reach many markets by the year’s end and even more interestingly, is that the phone will run Android Marshmallow out of the box. This could mean that the new version of Sense is almost ready or it could even mean that the phone is running a stock version of Android (granted, this is more unlikely). If the specs belong to the mid-range, HTC could have figured out a way to include some innovative features, in addition to premium hardware, to make it more attractive to consumers. Perhaps a new strategy could focus on pricing this phone more aggressively.