sony-ifa-2015

Sony Continues Teasing IFA Announcement

August 26, 2015 - Written By Alexander Maxham

IFA is the last big trade show of the year, and it takes place the first week of September. And if you look at the calendar, that’s not that far away. Typically at IFA we see all of the fall flagships that will be on store shelves for the holidays, announced. Usually the new Galaxy Note, a new Xperia Z and some other smartphones from ASUS, Acer, LG, and others. With Samsung announcing the Galaxy Note 5 and Galaxy S6 Edge+ earlier this year, that leaves more spotlight for Sony and with their Xperia Z5, which we are expecting them to announce at IFA this year. With the Xperia Z4 and Xperia Z3+ not doing as well as the company had hoped for, Sony needs something bit for IFA this year.

In their latest teaser on Twitter, Sony confirms the day and time of their press conference. Which is set for September 2nd in Berlin at 4:45pm CET (for those in the US, that’s 10:45am EDT and 7:45am PDT). Now Sony hasn’t said what to expect at their press conference, but we do see what appears to be a smartphone showing up in each of their teasers. So it’s pretty likely that it’ll be a new smartphone, likely the Xperia Z5. They are also using the hashtag #SonyIFA, if you want to take part in the discussion on Twitter.

Sony hasn’t had a great year in mobile, in fact, it’s been a few bad years for them in mobile. With them keeping pretty much the same design in all of their Xperia Z models, and also releasing a new flagship every 6 months. While their competitors are doing it about once a year. Sony makes great devices, but they do need some changes now. They’ve been using the same camera in the Xperia Z2, Z3, and Z4, so hopefully Sony got the memo and gives us an upgraded camera in the Xperia Z5 come September 2nd.

We will be there in Berlin at Sony’s press conference to see what exactly the company has in store for us. As well as what the others have in store for IFA. So stay tuned.