Huwaei P8 global launch

Huawei’s P8 Event Will Kick Off In A Couple Of Hours And You Can Watch It Live

April 15, 2015 - Written By Kristijan Lucic

Huawei’s upcoming P8 flagship has been leaking like crazy over the last couple of weeks and the company has released a ton of teasers hyping up this device. Huawei has even released a teaser video which was rather odd and hinted at a great low-light capabilities of P8’s camera sensor. Anyhow, this China-based company has announced a while back that they’ll announce the P8 handset in London on April 15, which means the announcement will take place tonight.

The company has released a ton of teasers over the last week or so and you can check out all of those in the gallery down below. They’re rather cryptic and each of them is hinting at a special set of capabilities or features of this device. That being said, Huawei will livestream the event later today, in case you’re interested you can watch it via this link. The event will kick off in about 5 hours (at the time of writing this article), it starts at 3PM BST (10AM EST / 7AM PST / 4PM CET) and will go on for about one and a half hours according to the company. Keep in mind that Huawei might also announce the ‘Lite’ variant of the P8 handset considering that version has been leaking all over the place as well.

According to the latest available info, the Huawei P8 will feature a 5.2-inch 1080p (1920 x 1080) display, 3GB of RAM and 32GB of built-in storage. Huawei’s very own HiSilicon Kirin 930 or 935 processor will power on this handset and you can expect Android 5.0 Lollipop to come pre-installed on this device with Huawei’s Emotion UI on top of it. The 13-megapixel camera will be located on the back of this device (OIS included), and a 5-megapixel shooter will be available up front. The leaked render of this handset is also available in the gallery down below, so you can check that out as well if you’re interested. Thin bezels and premium built is expected here.

The P8 Lite, on the other hand, is rumored to sport a 5-inch 720p (1280 x 720) display along with 2GB of RAM. The 13 and 5-megapixel camera sensors will be available here as well, same can be said about Android 5.0 Lollipop and Huawei’s Emotion UI skin. This handset will quite probably look basically identical to the Huawei P8, but will sport lower-end specs and will be somewhat smaller.