AH MWC 2015

Mobile World Congress 2015: What To Expect?

February 27, 2015 - Written By Alexander Maxham

Mobile World Congress 2015 is nearly upon us. In fact, we are already in Barcelona to cover the entire trade show. The show starts Monday, officially. But as usual with these trade shows, all the news comes the day or two before the show opens up. We’ve got a few press conferences on Sunday from HTC, Huawei, Samsung and Alcatel, as well as Pepcom and Showstoppers. Then Monday morning, the show floor opens up and we’ve got loads more content coming to you on Monday morning. In this #MWC15 preview, we’ll be breaking down each manufacturer, and what they might or might not bring to one of the biggest mobile shows of the year, from beautiful Barcelona.

huawei-logo-4

Huawei

(Press conference on Sunday, March 1st at 3pm CET – that’s 9am EST and 6am PST)

It’s tough to say what we might see from Huawei at their presser this year. Although it’s looking like the successor to the Ascend P7 might be on display next weekend. That would be the Ascend P8. It’ll likely be a really thin device, with pretty much top-of-the-line specs. Including their own processor, which has proven to work pretty well in the Ascend Mate series.

It also does look like we will be seeing a smartwatch from Huawei. Going by the name the Huawei watch, this will be along the lines of the LG Watch Urbane with an emphasis on round and being more like a timepiece. According to the adverts dotted around Barcelona Airport today, this will be running on Android Wear.

HTC

HTC

(Press conference on Sunday, March 1st at 4pm CET – that’s 10am EST and 7am PST)

We basically know what HTC is announcing in Barcelona this year, but that doesn’t mean the HTC One M9 will be the only thing HTC has to show us. Speaking of the HTC One M9, we’ve seen a ton of leaks of the device, although not as bad as that full review of the device that popped up about a week before the announcement last year. In terms of what to expect, a 5 or 5.2-inch device, that looks almost the same as last year’s, maybe without the black bar. Not to mention, probably the Snapdragon 810 processor will be included, in spite of rumors HTC will be using MediaTek this year. As far as the camera goes, it looks like we might see a nice 20MP camera, from Toshiba not Sony, this year. Which would be a huge upgrade from last year.

HTC is also rumored to be bringing their much-awaited smartwatch that’s running Android Wear. While it’s not confirmed, it does seem likely. Since it was dumped at the last minute from their IFA press conference. There’s also rumors that HTC might be putting out a tablet that’s like the Nexus 9, but with Sense obviously. It will be interesting to see if we see a tablet from HTC this time around at Mobile World Congress.

alcatel-logo-1

Alcatel OneTouch

(Press conference on Sunday, March 1st at 4pm CET – that’s 10am EST and 7am PST)

Alcatel OneTouch is one of those companies that always has something new for us, but here in the States, we never really see anything new from them, unfortunately. Alcatel has a few devices on T-Mobile and Cricket here in the US and that’s about it. They are usually mid-range or low-end devices, which there’s nothing wrong with that. They just don’t get as much attention as ZTE, Huawei, Samsung, HTC, Lenovo, etc. But we will be there to see what Alcatel has in store for us. Likely some new smartphones and tablets.

Samsung 2

Samsung

(Press conference on Sunday, March 1st at 6:30pm CET – that’s  12:30pm EST and 9:30am PST)

So what’s Samsung going to announce? They’ve been teasing the Galaxy S6 for the past couple of weeks, so it’s almost certain that we’ll see the Galaxy S6 at MWC next weekend. Although, it would be wise to not put too much faith in those leaks. While we all love some leaks from time to time, it’s important to remember that especially Samsung likes to use several different prototypes of a device before it’s final. So the leak may have been of an early prototype, or even fake, as we’ve seen many times before. So just keep that in mind.

One thing we know about Samsung is there’s always something else. And it’s likely to be a wearable or two. At MWC last year we got three wearables from Samsung. The Gear Fit, Gear 2, and Gear 2 Neo, all running on Tizen. I wouldn’t be surprised to see this again this year at MWC. I really don’t think we’ll see another Android Wear smartwatch from them this time around, although it would be nice to have one.

Qualcomm-Logo-AH-6

Qualcomm

(Press conference on Monday, March 2nd at 8:30am CET – that’s 2:30am EST and 11:30pm PST)

Qualcomm has a press conference and Q&A on Monday morning to kick the show off in Barcelona. It is not clear what Qualcomm has to announce, but it could be some more support for AllPlay, which they’ll be demoing at MWC all week long. We’ll be there to see what Qualcomm has in store for us.

Lenovo-Logo

Lenovo

This year, Lenovo is one of those that elected not to hold a press conference in Barcelona. But as usual, they will have a ton of new devices announced. We’re looking at a few new additions to their Vibe lineup, which is really popular. Whether, it will make its way to the US is unclear although, hopefully, their Motorola acquisition will make this more of a possibility. It is also likely that we will see a new Chromebook from them.

ZTE-logo-1

ZTE

Another Chinese manufacturer trying to make it in the US is ZTE. They’ve done a few things that other OEMs haven’t done, like sponsoring a few NBA teams like the New York Knicks, Houston Rockets and Golden State Warriors. ZTE makes some great phones in their Nubia lineup, but unfortunately, those never really make it to the US. ZTE will likely announce a new phone or two for Cricket and T-Mobile as those are the carriers they seem to be working with almost exclusively. We’ll see what they are up to on Tuesday.

Sony 7

Sony

Not much from Sony this year, and no Xperia Z4. This year, Sony is not even having a press conference. So it’s really likely that we’ll see them announce a few mid-range and low-end smartphones, and that’ll be that. As far as mobile goes. Which is unfortunate, but it is nice to see them getting away from announcing a new flagship every 6 months. However, we will be stopping by their booth to see exactly what Sony has for MWC 2015.

Dell-Logo

Dell

It looks like Dell is going to be announcing a new Chromebook, and showing off their latest Education Chromebook which was announced a few weeks ago. After announcing the Dell Venue 8 7000 Series last month at CES. It is unlikely that we will be seeing another tablet from them this time around. Although it would be interesting to see a smartphone from them.

AH Acer Liquid Jade S-1

Acer

Acer always has a ton of new products. Whether they are laptops, Chromebooks, tablets or smartphones. My money is on a new Chromebook. As their C720 is starting to age, and it’s time for a replacement for that line up. Hopefully, a 13-incher from them again, and hopefully a FHD display along with a Bay Trail processor.

Toshiba

Project Ara

It is likely, we will see some Project Ara modules at MWC 2015 this year. Primarily from Toshiba and Yezz. These two have already announced some modules that they’ll have on display at MWC, so we’ll be on the lookout for those. Hopefully, we see some other OEMs with Project Ara modules this year too.

Final Thoughts

While it seems like MWC is going to be small this year, compared to previous years, with really only HTC and Samsung having big press conferences. It’s still going to be a big show and definitely one you will want to stay informed on.