Sony’s Next Flagship, Codenamed Sirius, To Feature Snapdragon 805, 5.2-inch 2560×1440 Display, 20.7MP Camera, KitKat and More!

January 5, 2014 - Written By Alexander Maxham

We already heard about some of the codenames for upcoming Sony devices, and now this afternoon we’re hearing about some of the specs for the Sirius, which we believe will be announced at CES tomorrow. Sony’s press conference is set for 5pm PST on Monday. Which is 8pm EST and 1am GMT. We don’t know exactly what Sony has to show us tomorrow, but I’m really hoping the Sirius is one of them.

The alleged specs for the Sony Sirius consists of the brand new Snapdragon 805 processor, which is a slight bump from the Snapdragon 800 which is a beast. It’s also featuring a 5.2-inch 2560×1440 resolution display, 3GB of RAM, a 20.7MP camera on the back, along with a 3500mAh battery inside powering it all. Not to mention it’s going to have Android 4.4 KitKat on board. Which would make this the first device from Sony to launch on the most up-to-date version of Android.

Of course, this isn’t all Sony has up its sleeve for 2014. There’s another flagship that’s due out around May. This one is codenamed the Canopus, and there’s really no information on the specs for this one. But I’m sure it’s going to be just as amazing as Sirius appears to be. Sony’s presser kicks off at 5pm PST tomorrow from Las Vegas at CES 2014, we’ll be bringing you all the announcements from Sony’s event right here at Android Headlines. So make sure you stay tuned.

The Sony Sirius appears to be a pretty good device, at least if these specs are true. This seems like a very fitting upgrade from the Xperia Z1. I’m really excited to check out this phone, especially the battery life. Sony has generally had pretty good battery life on their devices, but packing in a 3500mAh battery in this one should definitely give you great battery life, even with a 2560×1440 resolution display. Who else is excited for Sony’s announcement tomorrow?