CES 2014: Supertooth Makes the Disco 4 Wireless Bluetooth Speaker Official

January 5, 2014 - Written By Alexander Maxham

Later tonight, we’ll be seeing a lot more speakers, cases, and other accessories as CES Unveiled gets  started. Supertooth has been creating some pretty good speakers over the past few years, and we’ve reviewed a few of them in 2013, and will probably review a few more in 2014. At CES this year, they are showing off their latest Bluetooth speaker, which is the Disco 4. This wireless Bluetooth Speaker can be paired with devices by using Bluetooth 4.0, which is the latest version of Bluetooth. My favorite part about the Supertooth Disco 4 is the fact that you can use NFC to pair the speaker with your device. If you’ve read any of my previous reviews on speakers, you’ll know how much I love having NFC on those. Supertooth is also claiming that after charging the device for only two hours, you’ll be getting anywhere from 3-12 hours of battery life, depending on the volume level. Now that’s continuous autoplay as well.

The Disco 4 weighs just over a pound and features an 8-watt bass reflex system for optimal sound quality. There’s also a 30-foot range for Bluetooth connectivity. So far there’s no word on pricing or if the Disco 4 has a speakerphone inside, so you could take calls with the new speaker. But it is on display at CES, and we’ll probably get some hands on looks at the speaker later this week, once the show floor opens up, officially on Tuesday. Supertooth is expecting to launch the Disco 4 speaker in Q1 of this year, So we should see it between now and the end of March on store shelves.

This is just the beginning of the CES coverage we have beginning now and going through til the end of the week. We should be seeing plenty of other speakers out and about later on tonight when CES Unveiled starts, which is at 4pm PST (that’s 7pm EST and 12-midnight GMT). What are you most excited to see at CES this year?