CES2014_Blog_Lab

CES 2014 Preview: What To Expect from Samsung, Qualcomm, Pebble, Sony, and More!

January 3, 2014 - Written By Alexander Maxham

CES is kicking off in just a few days. We’re going to see even more news breaking in the next couple of days and throughout the weekend. CES actually starts on Tuesday, but there will be loads of press conferences on Sunday night and all day Monday. So you’ll want to keep an eye on Android Headlines so you don’t miss a beat. This is our in-depth preview of CES, from Las Vegas. Now we are only really going to look at mobile devices and wearables, since that’s basically all we cover here at Android Headlines. Let’s start out with a couple of Korean companies.

LG

LG is hosting their press conference first-thing Monday morning. Which is typical for LG. The Korean OEM probably won’t announce any phones or tablets. But we may see the LG G Pad 8.3 hit a carrier or two. As well as see their ODIN processor, which is said to be octa-core and was benchmarked not too long ago. Outside of Mobile things, LG is also going to show off a few TVs. Including a 105-inch LED TV and a 77-inch curved TV.

Samsung-630x371

Samsung

I’m not expecting a whole lot of stuff from Samsung, as they like to host their own event to announce the big stuff like the Galaxy S5. But I’m sure they will announce the Exynos 6 and Exynos S chips. Which are said to be 64-bit chips. Samsung has already announced the Galaxy Camera 2, and have also said they are focusing primarily on wearables at CES. So we may see another Galaxy Gear, or a fitness tracker from Samsung at CES. Their press conference takes place on Monday at 2pm PST (that’s 5pm for the east coast guys like myself).

Toshiba

We could see a tablet or two from Toshiba, but we haven’t seen much in the way of leaks for Toshiba products. So I’m expecting more of laptops and such. But they did announce that new camera module a few weeks ago. So they may be showing that off. As it’s supposed to be in various mobile devices later this year. Their press conference is Sunday night at 7pm PST/10pm EST.

Pebble

Pebble teased us yesterday, saying they had something special to show off at CES next week. Now we aren’t sure if that means we’ll be seeing a Pebble 2 or not. Although that’s where my money would be if I were a betting man. Pebble will be kicking off their press conference at 11am PST/2pm EST on Monday, and they are planning to stream it live on their website.

garyintroqualcommSUPA7929

Qualcomm

This is another company, where I’m not really sure what they are going to show us come CES. We could see a couple new processor, we might not. They’ve already announced the Snapdragon 805, which is a pretty incremental update from the Snapdragon 800, in my eyes. Although, Qualcomm may show off some more wearables. After all, they did announce the Qualcomm Toq a few months ago. So it’ll be interesting to see what they have in store for us. Qualcomm kicks off their presser at 12-noon PST/ 3pm EST on Monday.

Intel

We’ve seen lots of rumors around Intel lately. What I’m expecting is probably a few more processors for mobile devices, and Chromebooks. As well as some AiO’s. There was a rumor that hit today, that Intel is working on a device that will run both Android and Windows. Which isn’t the first time we’ve seen that. ASUS and Samsung have a few of those. But it’s definitely something interesting. We’ll find out more at their press conference on Monday at 1pm PST/4pm EST.

Sony

Sony may have some new hardware for us to check out. We’ve seen leaked lists of names for new devices that Sony is going to be announcing, and that’s about it. We knew that Sony was looking to double-down on all the leaks and it looks like they’ve done just that. Hopefully we don’t see a new Smartwatch 3 until later this year. But I wouldn’t put it past them to announce some other type of wearable. Sony’s CEO is kicking off their press conference at 5pm PST/8pm EST on Monday.

Final Thoughts

I’ve said this before, but I’m not expecting a whole lot of new smartphones and tablets to be announced at CES next week. But more of wearables and smartwatches. I believe 2014 is going to be full of wearables, as that seems to be the next step after smartphones and tablets. Although I would like to see a couple good looking tablets at CES this year. It’s going to be a fun, yet busy week next week here at Android Headlines. What are you most looking forward to from CES this year?