Android How To: Hide your +1 History on Google+

July 15, 2013 - Written By Alexander Maxham

Not too long ago, Google+ updated both their desktop and mobile apps to show you posts that people in your circles have +1’d. Taking a page straight from Facebook. Except, you can actually hide your +1 history so that your followers don’t see every post you +1. It’ll also keep your friends happy. Not everyone wants to see you +1’ing all of Android Headlines posts’, but we do!

You can easily change your settings so only you can see the posts you’ve +1’d or people in your circles, or everyone. Google+ makes privacy settings very simple, which is something Facebook needs to “copy”. Here’s how to change the settings on the desktop version of Google+, we’ll go over the Android app in a little bit.

  1. Hop into Google+ Settings
  2. Scroll down about halfway down the page and click on “Manage” under Apps & Activities
  3. Next, Click on ‘Google”
  4. Then Click on ‘Edit’  to the right of the Google+ row.
  5. You’ll be greeted with a popup that allows you to change who can see posts you’ve +1’d. You can choose from Extended Circles, Public, Your Circles, Only You, or you can customize it.
  6. Just click save and you’re done! It’s just that easy.

Now on the Google+ app for Android it’s a bit different:

  1. Open up your Google+ app
  2. Go into Settings
  3. Tap on ‘Sharing’
  4. Under ‘Activity Updates’ tap on the ‘+1s from posts’ link.
  5. Choose who you want to see posts you’ve +1’d.
  6. And you’re done.

As a content creator, this is a great feature, but as someone that checks out Google+ from time-to-time and don’t want to see your stream filled with people that have +1’d cats, then you’re going to hate this feature. Just like most features on Google+, Facebook, Twitter and every other social network out there, there’s a love/hate relationship for it. How many of you love or hate this new feature from Google? Let us know in the comments below.